What time does the GTA 6 trailer release?

The release of a GTA 6 trailer has been a long time coming. It’s been a decade since the last Grand Theft Auto game, and even longer since it was first revealed with its own teaser from developer Rockstar Games.

We already likely know some of what to expect thanks to some early leaks, which Rockstar confirmed at the time while also clarifying in a statement that it would wait to “properly introduce […] this next game when it is ready.”

Well, that time has come. This page will explain when the GTA 6 trailer will be released in your time zone, and what to expect.


GTA 6 trailer release time: When is the GTA 6 trailer coming out?

GTA 6’s first trailer will be released on Tuesday, Dec. 5, at the following times:

  • 6 a.m. PST for the West Coast of North America
  • 9 a.m. EST for the East Coast of North America
  • 2 p.m. GMT for the U.K.
  • 3 p.m. CEST for west mainland Europe
  • 11 p.m. JST in Japan

As per previous trailers, expect it to be published to the official Rockstar Games YouTube channel. It’ll also be worth visiting Rockstar’s newswire and social channels on Twitter / X or Facebook, where we’ll possibly learn some additional information beyond the trailer itself. On that note — what can we expect?


What can we expect from the first GTA 6 trailer?

“Trailer 1” for Rockstar’s next project is confirmed to be the “next Grand Theft Auto,” according to a news release from November, which will almost certainly be named Grand Theft Auto 6. This might sound obvious to point out, but we technically don’t know the name yet. As it’s been 10 years since the last game — GTA 5 debuted in September 2013 — and that numbered entries are reserved for the next major game in the series, this being GTA 6 seems like a safe bet.

Following leaks of “early development footage” of the game late last year, we otherwise likely know several key details already, from the setting (a fictionalized Miami, similar to 2002’s Grand Theft Auto: Vice City, albeit a fresh take set in the modern day) and the return of multiple playable protagonists (including a female character). You can delve into this, and more, in our Grand Theft Auto 6 everything we know page.

All this, as well as the broad themes of the story, will likely be revealed as part of this first trailer. Of course, there could have been some changes since those leaks, but based on the teaser image for the trailer — as seen below — the Miami / Vice City theme, with its palm trees and color palette, is all but confirmed.

A teaser image for GTA 6’s Trailer 1 and the text ‘Tuesday, December 5, 9am ET’ on an orange and pink sky with palm trees either side Image: Rockstar Games

As for news of a release date at this point, it’s certainly possible. Red Dead Redemption 2 saw its first trailer end with a date (which was later delayed), while Grand Theft Auto 5’s first look did not.

Either way, revisiting these reveal trailers can give us a better idea of what we can expect from our first look at the game. Both teasers are less about story specifics and individual characters, and more establishing the setting and tone; it’s likely that this first look at the next Grand Theft Auto will strive for the same.

Here’s Grand Theft Auto 5’s reveal trailer, from November 2011 (the game launched nearly two full years later):

[embedded content]

And Red Dead Redemption 2’s reveal trailer, from October 2016 (the game launched in October 2018):

[embedded content]

Though 2022’s leaks have given us an idea of the broad strokes of this next Grand Theft Auto, there’s plenty we still don’t know about the game that this debut trailer should reveal. And if it doesn’t show much, this is “Trailer 1,” suggesting it’ll be the first of many — meaning we’ll have multiple glimpses of the game before it eventually arrives.