What time does Elden Ring: Shadow of the Erdtree DLC release?

The release of Shadow of the Erdtree marks the one and only DLC for Elden Ring. As befitting a game that’s practically impossible to navigate without guides, the DLC’s release time is also somewhat byzantine, with staggered rollouts depending on where you live and what platform you’re playing on.

Here’s when Elden Ring’s Shadow of the Erdtree DLC releases in your time zone.


Shadow of the Erdtree release time: When does Elden Ring DLC release?

The release time for Elden Ring differs depending on which platform you’re playing on.

Elden Ring DLC PlayStation and Xbox release time

A graphic shows the release times around the world for Elden Ring Shadow of the Erdtree DLC. Image: FromSoftware/Bandai Namco

On PlayStation and Xbox, Shadow of the Erdtree will go live at midnight local time on Friday, June 21, in most regions around the world, according to a graphic posted to social media by developer FromSoftware.

The exception is the United States where, once it hits midnight local time on the east coast, the DLC will go live on console for the whole country (meaning those of you on the west coast will be able to play as of 9 p.m. PDT on June 20).

Elden Ring DLC PC release time

Meanwhile, on Windows PC, Shadow of the Erdtree launches midnight CEST on Friday, June 21 at the same time around the world. Here’s when that is in your time zone:

  • 3 p.m PDT on June 20 for the west coast of North America
  • 6 p.m. EDT on June 20 for the east coast of North America
  • 11 p.m. BST on June 20 for the U.K.
  • 12 a.m. CEST for western Europe / Paris
  • 7 a.m. JST on May 30 for Tokyo

What to expect from Elden Ring: Shadow of the Erdtree DLC

[embedded content]

As described in Polygon’s Shadow of the Erdtree preview and initial impressions, the DLC is fundamentally “more Elden Ring.” For the most part, that means: sprawling dungeons, relentless enemies, and a vast sense of discovery.

For one thing, according to our preview, the expansion is significantly more difficult than the base game. There are new types of collectibles in the mix (including power-ups called Scadutree Fragments). Narratively, Shadow of the Erdtree focuses on Miquella, whom you may know as the brother of Malenia, one of the most notorious boss fights from the base game.

We’re a bit close to the wire, but if you’re still getting ready for the expansion, see our guides on how to access Shadow of the Erdtree and how to prepare for the DLC. At the very least, you’ll need to defeat Radahn and Mohg — something roughly two-thirds of players haven’t done. Good luck!